Sunday, December 14, 2014

Former PhD Student Rajee Rajakumar Wins Prestigious Thesis Award

Congratulations Rajee, you are in good company, previous winners of this PhD thesis award have gone on to become leading scientists in Ecology and Evolution at Canadian Universities and abroad. Past winners include:

1980- Douglas W. Morris (Lakehead University)
1993- James H. Hare (University of Manitoba)
1997- Christian Klingenberg (University of Manchester)
1998- Sally P. Leys (University of Alberta, Edmonton)
2002- Julie Turgeon (University of Laval, Quebec)
2006- Dylan Fraser (Concordia University)

Rajee's has published or will publish 7 papers from his thesis, which include at least 3 ground breaking papers. Two have yet to be published, and the most famous is:

Rajendhran Rajakumar, Diego San Mauro, Michiel B. Dijkstra, Ming H. Huang, Diana E. Wheeler, Francois Hiou-Tim, Abderrahman Khila, Michael Cournoyea, Ehab Abouheif. 2012. Ancestral Developmental Potential Facilitates Parallel Evolution in Ants. Science 335 (6064): 79-82.

Here is Rajee on an ant collecting trip in Florida. By the looks of things, Rajee had fun in his thesis too!

Rajee is now NSERC postdoctoral fellow in the HHMI lab of Dr. Marty Cohn at the Genetics Institute of the University of Florida

I am so proud!

Ehab Abouheif 
16 December 2014


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.